The Romance Writers of Australia Hall of Fame was launched in 2012. An author is inducted into the Hall of Fame based on a stellar, long-time career writing romantic fiction.

In 2014, RWA inducted Emma Darcy into the Hall of Fame.

Emma DarcyEmma Darcy is the author of more than 110 category romance novels, with unit sales over 60 million since her 1983 debut.  She was a driving force in creating and funding the Emma Darcy Award in 1993, which encouraged unpublished authors to finish their manuscripts.  The contest ran until 2004, was the precursor to the Emerald awards and helped to launch the successful careers of several of our members.

Emma Darcy has been a keynote or featured speaker at no less than five RWA conferences, including the very first one.  She has always been a strong supporter of RWA, aspiring romance authors and the genre we all love.  We are honoured to have her in our Hall of Fame and delighted she could be with us to accept the award.


In 2012, RWA honoured well-loved and respected Harlequin Mills & Boon author Helen Bianchin. Helen was inducted at the Awards Dinner on 18 August at the Diamonds Are Forever conference.

Helen’s distinguished career launched in June 1975 with the publication of The Willing Heart. That title is particularly apt given how willingly Helen has supported and advised young and
aspiring authors on their publishing journeys.

She has published a total of 60 romances with Harlequin Mills & Boon. Her books have been translated into 32 languages, sold tens of millions of copies worldwide and appeared on bestsellers lists including USA Today, Waldenbooks/Borders and Nielsen Bookscan. In 2003 Helen was made an Honorary Life Member of Romance Writers of Australia.