RWA is excited to launch a new contest for published novellas. To be known as The Ella, the romantic novella of the year award will be a reader-judged contest, and the winner will be announced at RWA’s national conference in August.

Romance Writers of Australia’s Ella award is a reader-judged contest for excellent in published novellas.

Please note: in 2016 the Ella award was incorporated into the Ruby as a separate category.

Past Winners

We are very excited to announce the finalists and winners in RWA’s Romantic Novella of the Year contest, for published novella-length stories.

Anna Hackett – Beneath a Trojan Moon – self-published – EQUAL WINNER
Anna Campbell – Her Christmas Earl – self-published – EQUAL WINNER
Fiona Greene – Home for Christmas – Escape Publishing
Kelly Hunter – Sympathy for the Devil – Tule Publishing

Congratulations to all of our finalists and winners!

The winner of the Ella was announced at the awards dinner at our conference in August 2015.

Ask Me To Stay – Elise Ackers

Worth the Risk – Sarah Mayberry – WINNER

Christmas at the Gingerbread Cafe – Rebecca Raisin

Christmas Cinderella (in ‘A Sprinkling of Christmas Magic’ anthology) – Elizabeth Rolls