View Post

Ruby Finalists Announced!

In Conference, Contests, Indie Publishing, RWA News by RWA Blog Coordinator8 Comments

It’s that time of year folks! The finalists for Romantic Book of the Year were announced this week! Congratulations to all the finalists, what an amazing effort! Kudos to our contest team, reader judges, organising committee and contest co-ordinator Sarma Burdeu! And the finalists are… Romantic Suspense Leah Ashton – Out Run the Night (previously ‘Defiant’) Claire Boston – Nothing to Lose Claire Boston – Shelter Emma Lea – Hide and Seek Contemporary Amy Andrews – Nothing But Trouble Ann Penny – Capturing Love Janet Elizabeth Henderson – Can’t Stop the Feeling Sarah Williams – The legacies of Brigadier Station …

View Post

New $30,000 Australasian literary prize celebrating historical fiction genre

In Contests, Creative Writing, Guest Articles, RWA News by RWA Blog CoordinatorLeave a Comment

Australia’s leading infrastructure and facilities service provider ARA Group has partnered with The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA) to announce a new major literary prize, set to award $30,000 to an outstanding historical novelist. The new ARA Historical Novel Prize gives Australian and New Zealand historical novelists the chance to be recognised in a class of their own, with the most significant prize money for any genre-based prize in Australasia. Entries will be judged on excellence in writing, depth of research, and reader appeal. ARA Group Founder, Executive Chair and Managing Director Ed Federman said as a patron of historical …

View Post

Ripping Start finalists 2018

In Contests, RWA News by Online ManagerLeave a Comment

Our annual Ripping Start contest is well underway, with Aspiring and Emerging members having submitted their first 1,500 words of an unpublished 10K+ romance or romantic elements manuscript (novel or novella) plus a mini synopsis (300 words). The contest closed for judging on 25 September, and we are pleased to announce the following finalists for 2018: Andra Ahe Ree Andersson Suzie Jay Rachel Armstrong Gina Hollands Maya Linnell Dianna Wilson Kristine Charles Sara Land These finalists will now be judged by Carrie Feron, Executive Editor, Senior Vice President from William Morrow/Avon. The first place winner will receive a  manuscript assessment of up to …

View Post

RWA Award Results 2017

In Contests, RWA News by Online Manager1 Comment

The winners of our annual awards were announced on Saturday 12 August 2017 at a gala awards dinner during our ‘Love Gone Wild’ conference. Highlights of the evening included inducting the incomparable Marion Lennox into our esteemed Hall of Fame, and the ever-popular Escape After Party. Congratulations to all of our nominees and award winners. We are incredibly proud of the calibre of talent across RWA, and look forward to receiving entries for our 2018 season. Ripping Start Award 3rd place – Tania Holland, Framed 2nd place – Tamar Sloan, Make It Count Selling Synopsis 3rd place – Bree Verity, The Unwilling Smuggler …

View Post

ROMA Finalists

In RWA News by Online ManagerLeave a Comment

The ROMA is Romance Writers of Australia’s (RWA’s) annual award for excellence in Australian media coverage of romance genre or themes. Each year, RWA members nominate pieces that represent the strongest and freshest reportage of a romance-related subject. They are read and assessed by a member-panel that includes a journalist and experienced marketers/communicators. Entries are assessed against criteria including quality, innovation, bias/objectivity and reach. This year, two very different approaches have made the finals: A pair of pieces based on an interview with 2016 RWA Conference keynotes, Jim and Nikoo McGoldrick, syndicated to The Mercury (TAS) and The Advertiser (SA) but which featured market-specific authors and …