Writing a Romantic Book Series with Mel A Rowe

In Creative Writing, Guest Articles by RWA Blog CoordinatorLeave a Comment

How long should a romantic book series be?

Releasing book seven of my bestselling Elsie Creek Series, I had to wonder how many books should make up a romance series?

So I searched for a popular romance series with seven or more full-sized novels.

The results…

A random selection from each category, to give you an idea for your own romance series.


Fantasy books are amazing places you can really dive into. Even though some of the following titles aren’t classified as romances, we all know there is an element of romance to be found between their covers.

CS Lewis, Chronicles of Narnia—10 books

Diana Gabaldon, Outlander Series—14 books

George RR Martin, Game of Thrones—8 books

Robert Jordan, The Wheel of time—14 books


Maybe it’s the tension and adrenalin that gets the characters involved with many romantic trysts within this crime genre. Mystery, thriller, legal courtroom battles, and espionage on a global scale is a noble reason to fill the pages like Lee Child’s Jack Reacher Series that contains 27 books.

Not to be outdone, here’s some top-class romance (romantic element) series within this genre:

Janet Evanovich, Stephanie Plum—27 books

JD Robb, In Death Series—63 books

Melinda Leigh, Bree Taggert Series—8 books


Welcome to the world of witches, werewolves, and vampires in this underworld of magic, with some popular romance series created by some amazing authors. In random order, here is a short list of some long romantic book series you may have on your bookshelf. I know I do!

Charlaine Harris, Sookie Stackhouse Series—15 books

Laurell K. Hamilton, Anita Blake Series—32 books

Sherrilyn Kenyon, The Dark Hunters Series—22 books

JR Ward, Black Dagger Brotherhood Series—19 books

Quinn Loftis, The Grey Wolves Series—16 books

Christine Feehan, The Dark Book Series—36 books

Keri Arthur, Lizzie Grace Series—10 books


This is a short, random list of romance series containing seven or more books within their series:

Julia Quinn, Bridgeton Series—7 books

Diana Palmer, Long Tall Texans Series—53 books

Marie Force, Gansett Island Series—25 books

Helen Hardt, Steel Brothers Saga—24 books

Lorelei James, Rough Riders Series—21 books

Marie Force, Fatal Series—16 books

Bella Andre, The Sullivans—21 books

Robyn Carr, A Virgin River Series—21 books

Brenda Jackson, Madaris Family Series—15 books

Abbi Glines, Rosemary Beach Series—14 books

Maggie Miller, Blackbird Beach—8 books

Jan Moran, Summer Beach—8 books

MS Parker, The Scottish billionaires—10 books

Rachel Hanna, South Carolina Sunsets—10 books

Lucinda Riley, Seven Sisters—8 books

Ivy Smoak, The Hunted Series—8 books

Penny Reid, Winston Brothers—8 books

Jill Shalvie, Lucky Harbor Series—12 books

Zoe York, Pine Harbour series—8 books

Zoe York, Seals Undone Series—10 books

According to the above numbers, it shows that you can stop whenever you like when writing your own romance series—which is as long as the story you have to tell.

Hope this helps.

Mel A Rowe

Written in Dust (The Elsie Creek Series) by Mel A Rowe

 **This post is a condensed version from the original article: Is it lucky to have Seven Books in a Series printed with permission by the author **

Australian Bestselling Author, Mel A ROWE, lives and writes from the Northern Territory Outback, where she enjoys random road trips, while annoying her family with her bad singing, and making new friends in the middle of nowhere — except for water buffalos. She’s been chased by a few.  

Author Mel A Rowe

Find Mel’s popular ELSIE CREEK SERIES at your favourite online bookstore or visit:


Twitter  |  Instagram

Leave a Comment